ISLE OF ANGLESEY COUNTY COUNCIL

nutes of the hybrid meeting of the Annual Meeting held on 21 May 2024

PRESENT: Councillors Geraint Bebb, Non Dafydd, Paul Ellis, Neville Evans, Glyn

Haynes, A M Jones, Carwyn Jones, Dyfed W Jones, G O Jones, R LI Jones, Jackie Lewis, Llinos Medi, Euryn Morris, Pip O'Neill, Derek Owen, Llio Angharad Owen, Gary Pritchard, Dylan Rees, Alun Roberts, Dafydd Roberts, Keith Roberts, Margaret M Roberts, Nicola Roberts, Ken Taylor, Alwen Pennant Watkin, Ieuan Williams,

Robin Williams, Sonia Williams, Liz Wood and Arfon Wyn

IN ATTENDANCE: Chief Executive,

Deputy Chief Executive,

Director of Function (Resources)/Section 151 Officer,

Director of Social Services,

Director of Education, Skills and Young People,

Head of Profession (Human Resources) and Transformation,

Head of Adults' Services,

Head of Highways, Property and Waste,

Head of Regulation and Economic Development,

Head of Democracy,

Legal Services Manager (RJ),

Solicitor (Corporate Governance and Contracts) (MY),

Committee Officer (MEH).

ALSO PRESENT: None

APOLOGIES: Councillors Jeff M Evans, Douglas Massie Fowlie, T LI Hughes MBE,

John Ifan Jones and Dafydd Rhys Thomas

1. ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON

It was RESOLVED that Councillor Glyn Haynes be elected as Chairperson of the Isle of Anglesey County Council for 2024/2025.

In accepting the honour of being appointed, Councillor Glyn Haynes assured the Council that he would endeavour to fulfil his duties as Chairperson to the best of his abilities. He thanked his predecessor Councillor Margaret Murley Roberts on the dignified and honourable way in which she carried out her duties as Chair of the County Council and presented her with a gift to acknowledge her service.

The outgoing Chairperson, Councillor Margaret Murley Roberts thanked her family for their support during her term of office and the Elected Members and Officers. She wished to thank the staff of Democratic Services for their support during her term as Chair of the Isle of Anglesey County Council. She expressed her sadness in losing a dear friend and a previous elected member, Vaughan Hughes who had supported her to become an Elected Member of the County Council. Councillor Roberts referred to the numerous events that she attended and the honour of representing the County Council in these events. She noted that her chosen charity was the Anglesey Food Bank and she presented a cheque of £4,300 recently to the Food Bank.

2. ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRPERSON

It was RESOLVED that Councillor Non Dafydd be unanimously elected as Vice-Chairperson of the Isle of Anglesey County Council for 2024/2025.

3. DECLARATION OF INTEREST

None received.

4. ANNOUNCEMENTS

There was no announcement.

5. MEMBERSHIP OF THE EXECUTIVE

In accordance with Paragraph 4.1.1.2.7 of the Constitution, the Leader named the following as the Members she has chosen to serve on the Executive along with their Portfolio responsibilities:-

Councillor Llinos Medi - Leader with Portfolio responsibility for Economic Development;

Councillor Robin Williams - Deputy Leader with Portfolio responsibility for Finance;

Councillor Gary Pritchard – Deputy Leader with Portfolio responsibility for Children (Social Services), Youth and Housing Services;

Councillor Neville Evans – Portfolio responsibility for Leisure, Tourism and Maritime;

Councillor Carwyn Jones – Portfolio responsibility for Corporate Business and Customer Experience;

Councillor Alun Roberts – Portfolio responsibility for Adults' Services (Social Services) and Community Safety;

Councillor Dafydd Roberts – Portfolio responsibility for Education and the Welsh Lanaguage;

Councillor Nicola Roberts – Portfolio responsibility for Planning, Public Protection and Climate Change;

Councillor Dafydd Rhys Thomas – Portfolio responsibility for Highways, Waste and Property.

6. ELECTION OF CHAIR OF THE DEMOCRATIC SERVICES COMMITTEE

In accordance with Part 3.4.12.3 of the Constitution it was RESOLVED that Councillor Keith Roberts be elected Chairperson of the Democratic Services Committee.

7. CONFIRMATION OF THE SCHEME OF DELEGATION

It was RESOLVED to confirm such part of the Scheme of Delegation as the Constitution determines it is for the Council to agree as set out in Part 3.2 of the Constitution.

8. CONFIRMATION OF COMMITTEES

The Chairperson confirmed the re-appointment of the Committee structure as referred to in Section 3.4 of the Council's Constitution, together with the following:-

- Standards Committee Selection Panel
- Standing Advisory Committee (SAC)
- Indemnities Sub-Committee

PROGRAMME OF MEETINGS OF THE COUNTY COUNCIL FOR 2024/25

It was RESOLVED to approve the following programme of ordinary meeting of the County Council for the ensuing year:-

26 September, 2024 - 2.00 pm
 5 December, 2024 - 2.00 pm
 6 March, 2025 - 2.00 pm

May, 2025 - date to be confirmed.

10. POLITICAL BALANCE ARRANGEMENTS WITHIN THE COUNCIL

The report of the Head of Democracy regarding the Council's political balance arrangements were presented for consideration.

It was RESOLVED:-

- To confirm the political balance arrangements and the number of seats allocated to each of the Groups under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989;
- That Group Leaders advise the Head of Democracy as soon as possible if there are any changes to Group Membership on Committees.

11. REPRESENTATION ON OUTSIDE BODIES

The report of the Head of Democracy regarding the appointment to Outside Bodies was presented for consideration.

It was RESOLVED to agree and confirm appointments as detailed in the schedule to the report.

12. INDEPENDENT REMUNERATION PANEL FOR WALES - ANNUAL REPORT FOR 2024/25

The report of the Head of Democracy regarding the Independent Remuneration Panel for Wales – Annual Report for 2024/2025 was presented for consideration.

It was RESOLVED:-

- To accept the determinations of the Independent Remuneration Panel for Wales for 2024/2025;
- To confirm that holders of the same posts as 2023/2024 will be entitled to receive senior salaries in 2024/2025, i.e.

Chair of the Council
Vice-Chair of the Council
Leader of the Council
Deputy Leader of the Council

Other Executive Members (7)
Leader of the Largest Opposition Group
Chairs of Scrutiny Committees (2)
Chair of the Planning and Orders Committee

• To authorise officers to amend Part 6 of the Council's Constitution (Schedule of Member Remuneration) to reflect the determinations made in the 2024/2025 Annual Report.

The meeting concluded at 2.30 pm

COUNCILLOR GLYN HAYNES CHAIR